Support the John Alviti Fund for Museum Innovation

In the spirit of cultural leader John Alviti’s curiosity and imagination, the Museum Council of Greater Philadelphia is establishing the John Alviti Fund for Museum Innovation. John is known for sharing his deep knowledge of history, science, and technology, and for mentoring emerging museum colleagues. He is an important member of Museum Council, and this  new fund will honor John’s contributions to Philadelphia’s museum sector and enable cultural institutions in the region to test new approaches to programming, exhibitions, community engagement, and audience development. 

This new source of support comes at a critical time for institutions in our area. With proposed cuts to vital federal funding, as well as ongoing fundraising challenges, there is often less room for testing new ideas and experiments. Through microgrants to Philadelphia institutions, the Fund will enable museums to test new approaches to programming, exhibitions, community engagement, and audience development, benefiting both visitors and the field.

John has generously provided a leadership gift to launch our fundraising efforts, and we hope you will join him in offering your support for museum innovation. Our goal is to raise $6,000 to provide three grants over the next three years. As of June 1, 2018, we have secured 85% of our goal, and ask you to please consider making a gift to help us advance this exciting endeavor.

Interested in applying for the 2018 John Alviti Fund for Museum Innovation grant? The application will open in July 2018. Check back for details.

Warning: browser cookies disabled. Please enable them to use this website.


* Mandatory fields
*First name
*Last name
*Primary Email
Home/Cell Phone
Work phone
Middle Initial
*Amount ($USD)

Security check

* Code
Type the 6 characters you see in the picture
Captcha code image
Hear the code Try another code

Thank you to our generous donors for their support of the 

John Alviti Fund for Museum Innovation!

John Alviti

Ben Franklin Celebration

V. Chapman-Smith

Susan Drinan
Olivia Edlund

Robert Eskind

The Franklin Institute

Maxine Gaiber

Kristen Froehlich

Jamie Hughes

Janet S. Klein 

Nicole Krom

Eileen Magee

Rose Mancini and Jim Alviti 

Jeff Pelletier 

Timshel Purdum

Peter and Wanda Ronner

Emily Romick

Saralyn Rosenfield

Carol Smith

Portia Sperr

Elizabeth Tinker

Dennis Wint

Patrick Wittwer

Gifts as of June 1, 2018

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software